The versatile blogger award

versatile+blogger+award

I guess this was the only way to bring me back to these streets. I haven’t shared anything for a while, although I have been writing. A lot. I just haven’t been in the mood to share my ramblings. I cannot tell you why, because I do not know. I write up something, edit it, and just when I’m about to post, I’m like, Naaah! Maybe the voices that, since I started blogging, have been telling me I put myself out there too much finally got to me. Anyway, thank you VERY MUCH Samantha MI for nominating me, but I’m not really thanking you for making me do the rest of this “challenge”.

Rule #1: Thank the person that nominated you and include a link to their blog

Well, I just did half of that. The other half is this: glambymi.com is Samantha’s blog, where she talks about makeup. She’s a very talented makeup artist, and although I do not wear makeup myself, I can attest she is good at what she does because her clients (pics of which she sometimes shares) never look like their faces fell in a bag of flour, or were hijacked by kindergarten kids armed with crayons.

Rule #2: Nominate at least 15 bloggers of your choice. When considering a fellow blogger for the Versatile Blogger Award, keep in mind the quality of their writing, the uniqueness of their subject matter and the level of love displayed on the virtual page.

Rule #3: Link your nominees and let them know about their nomination.

I thought I’d do two and three together. I’m not sure if I’ll make the 15 though, but I’m sure all of my nominees have already been nominated by somebody else before.

In no particular order, except for the first one who really is my favorite:

  1. The amazing, legendary, multi-award winner Jackson Biko (@bikozulu), who blogs at bikozulu.co.ke. When I grow up, I want to write like him. Please do yourself a favour by checking out and following his website. You will not be disappointed.
  2. Bernard Ewalu Olupot, aka @Beewol, aka The Talkative Rocker, who blogs at beewol.com. He doesn’t know, but he is the one who inspired me to start blogging. I followed him on Twitter and his posts used to be the highlight of my Mondays. He is kind of a bigwig now.
  3. My very talented (ey, she can write!), hilarious and daring (she calls herself “your favorite asshole”) friend Grace Gatera (@kishwitty) blogs at graycmusa143.wordpress.com. She is very good at something I cannot do: writing fiction. When I grow up, I want to write fiction like her.
  4. Clo (@cloniragire). Just the thought of some of her posts makes me laugh. Saying that she is entertaining would be an understatement. She IS entertainment! Scandalous (that’s what her blog is called) entertainment! Check out her blog (you better be fluent in French though) niragirediary.blogspot.fr. You will love it!
  5. “Ribara Uwariraye” (I love this name) aka mamazumzum.wordpress.com is another one of my favorite blogs, by the poet Ms. Mpinganzima (@Mhinganzima) who happens to feature in one of my all time favorite songs: Virtually Yours with “Eric 1Key”
  6. Eric 1Key (@eric1key) is a very very talented man (writing, poetry, spoken word, music, acting, advertising, entrepreneurship, etc.). A very good guy, but what I like the most about him is his unconventionality and refusal to adhere to the status quo. He doesn’t write much but when he does, it’s worth the read. Check him out at eric1key.blog.com.
  7. My highly intellectual Ugandan brother Allan B. Ssenyonga (@ssojo81) is a talented writer and future professor who used to crack the world up with his “The Hater” section in the Rwandan Sunday times. Now he spends his time travelling around the EAC and telling us all about it through his blog ssenyonga.wordpress.com. Abandi bana!
  8. Be sure to check out @AlainAmrah’s buja.mondoblog.org. I am jealous of his French. He is one of my favorite Burundian bloggers and co-founder of the yaga-burundi initiative.
  9. Cynthia Rama (@cynthiarama158) is relatively new to the Burundian blogosphere, but SHE. CAN. WRITE! I love how she uses sarcasm and wit to write about serious matters. I can’t wait for the “Burundi crisis” to be over and see her write about other things. Check her out at ramacynthia.wordpress.com.
  10. somandika.canalblog.com used to be another of my favorite blogs by a Burundian, but the author hasn’t posted anything for a while. I hope this “nomination” will come as an incentive to get her writing again.
  11. mindofmalaka.com by @AbenaGyekye
  12. sirgserge.com by @sirgserge
  13. kuzic.wordpress.com by @kuzeec
  14. And last but not least, my baby, “Ubuzima, à la Burundian” aka thisburundianlife.wordpress.com (@alaburundian). If it’s the first time you hear about this blog, you have just disappointed me, and you have missed out! It’s an “open blog” (multiple writers) full of literary treasures recounting what it’s like to live in Burundi and be Umurundi.

Rule #4: Share seven facts about you.

Fact 1: I am less eloquent in person than when I am hiding behind a screen and a keyboard. I love writing because it allows me to arrange my thoughts and ideas in a clear and concise manner. Meet me in person and you’ll realise that first, I don’t speak as much as I write (sometimes I don’t even speak at all); and second, I don’t always make sense. I do however enjoy throwing around sarcastic comments when I feel comfortable with people.

Fact 2: I’m quite inquisitive and I love to decipher what’s going on in people’s minds. Sometimes I’ll argue with someone just for the sake of arguing, even when I totally understand their point. I do it to decrypt their thought processes. I’m considering studying psychology and sociology at some point in my life. Oh, if I could get paid to study, that is all I would do with my life… although I hate taking exams.

Fact 3: I unintentionally start walking around when I’m in deep thought, or talking on the phone. I think better standing up, and I’ve recently realised eating while standing is fun too.

Fact 4: I talk to myself a lot, and I almost always have a song playing in my head (to which you may catch me dancing to). I’m sure some people who have seen me think I’m crazy.

Fact 5: Procrastination is my biggest flaw. I’m very good at generating ideas, problem solving and telling people what to do; but I suck at execution. I love planning, and arranging everything in my mind, but the grunt work bores me. If there weren’t people and deadlines to push me to do what I have to do, I probably wouldn’t get anything done. I’m sure I would have been a first class student and accomplished so much more with my life if I did’t leave everything for the last minute. Sigh.

Fact 6: I don’t eat as much as my body size suggests. I can go a whole day with just one meal. Actually, for many years I’ve only been eating “proper food” once a day when I’m alone. I don’t feel hunger when I’m busy, or asleep. I would much rather sleep than eat in fact. I love orange and mango juice, and I drink a lot of water. But I just have to think about food and my body will gain weight. It’s crazy! SMH! I have a sweet tooth though – I love chocolate. Dark chocolate.

Fact 7: I hate exercise and I’m not a sports fanatic – although I know the rules of almost all the popular games. I’m a lowkey supporter of Arsenal and Barcelona. I used to play tennis and was getting good at it, but then I got bored with the routine and stopped playing. I love walking though; and I can walk kilometers upon kilometers without breaking a sweat.

Phew! I am done with this!

I’ll catch you later my good people!

One thought on “The versatile blogger award

Leave a Reply

