The “truth” is relative

You have your way. I have my way. As for the right way, the correct way, and the only way, it does not exist. (Nietzsche)

On one random day I woke up and realised I had become an adult. Well, to be honest, I’m not quite sure of I’m an adult yet since, as I child, I was taught – or “encouraged to understand” – that adults think ‘differently’, that they see the World from a different and more realistic angle, that they are equipped to clearly tell the difference between what’s right from what’s wrong. Funny enough, I don’t feel that way. I certainly still have trouble telling apart a lot of rights from wrongs; and I must confess, my Worldview is basically still the same as it was when I was… say thirteen years old. The same things still matter to me!

Okay, my worldview has improved a bit, but it’s still based on the same principles: honesty, loyalty, getting what you deserve and deserving what you get – or both (some will argue that the two have totally different meanings). I’m obviously aware that these principles are too idealistic (in fact, a good friend of mine called me ‘idealistic’ the other day), and I know that there aren’t a lot of honest loyal people out there who are really enjoying their true worth; but aren’t those principles, and others, the basis of the decisions we make in life as adults? True or not true?

Then, what is “true” and what is “not true”? As a kid, I was taught – or “encouraged to understand” – that adults are always right… well, most of the time, until they are proven wrong by other adults. This made me eager to reach that stage in life where I would be “right” and my decisions flawless. But I’m yet to reach that stage!

To a lot of people I spend most of my time with – i.e. at work – I’m still a kid. First, because I look like one. It’s not my fault. Second, because half of them are old enough to be my parents; and you know that “in the eyes of your parents… yeah, you know.” But I can’t count the number of times I’ve actually been right about something when they were wrong. I can’t count the number of times they’ve come to me for advice. Funny enough, it still sometimes surprises me when I appear to be “the wise one” when there’s somebody who’s almost double my age. For some reason, there’s always something in me which still has me believing that because of their age, they should be wiser.

This has made me reflect on my life; and look back at all those years when I was told that I was wrong about something, to wonder if I wasn’t actually right. And I think this is very important because all the decisions taken back then made me who I am today. I am not questioning anything or anybody today, I’m just asking myself: what if?

What if I hadn’t believed that teacher who told me I was useless in Maths? Where would I be and what would I be doing now? What if I hadn’t come across that other Maths teacher who made me feel like Einstein? Where would I be and what would I be doing now?

Anyway, my point is… what if the so-called “adults” aren’t right?! What if the kids are right? Don’t they say “the truth comes from the mouth of children”? Isn’t the truth what we’re all after? The true meaning of life, who are our true friends, true love, true happiness etc…

You know what I think? I think that we’re all right and we’re all wrong! Adults are just kids that have aged, with the same beliefs, the same mistakes… they just have more power. We all have our truths, unique ways we understand the World; we all have our own beliefs of what’s right and what’s wrong… who’s right? Only God can tell. And I thank God for being God, and loving us just the way we are; all messed up and sure of ourselves at the same time.

Life has taught me that EVERYTHING is relative and that nothing is 100% right. I mean there was a time when the “truth” was that the World was flat; or that AIDS was a disease by and for gay people. But the beauty of it all is that we have the liberty to choose what we believe. I chose to believe in a God who loves me so much that He sent his only Son to die for me. He sure has helped me figure out a few things about myself and the things that I value. And you know what? I’m happy! Not all the time. But in general, I’m happy. You could argue that I’m wrong to believe in God. I don’t really see how I could force my God into you either. If He found me, I guess all I can do is let Him find you too.

But in the end, what does it matter? Don’t we all, sooner or later, realise we’ve made mistakes after bad decisions? Isn’t that how we learn? And actually, isn’t that the beauty of life? Knowing what’s really right for us after a conclusive trial and error? I believe there is a harmony when everything just falls in place, and we can tell, from deep down inside, the truth.

Ok I’m starting to sound like a hippie here, so let me stop.

But before I go, I’d like to recognise the efforts of all the good parents out there who strive to teach their kids the rights and wrongs. I wouldn’t be here if my parents hadn’t guided me on the right path. We can’t just let the children do whatever they want. They haven’t been exposed to as many realities (whether biased or not) as we have. So it’s our duty, and an expression of our love, to guide and protect them. Just as much as it’s our duty to protect the ones we love, by advising them and letting them in on “the other truth” that they could be missing. Advice is good. Advice is what helps us be sure of what we’re doing; it’s what helps us keep our feet on the ground… where they should be… or so they say…

Disclaimer: For all I know, this post (and blog) could just be a bunch of nonsense since all of it is purely based on my experiences, hence my truth. But until I hit a brick wall, or YOU manage to change my mind, this is what I’ll believe!

Leave a Reply

