Perfection is overrated!

Five years ago, on the 4th of March 2008 to be precise, I was sitting in my dorm room and I posted the note below on Facebook. I had totally forgotten about it until a few weeks ago when a friend of mine commented on it. I thought I’d share it with you here, and I feel like my next post will be somehow related to it (it’s cooking in my head).

Begin note…

What is perfect? Most lives on this earth have made their goal to find “perfection”… the perfect life, the perfect wife/husband, the perfect job, the perfect house, the perfect friends, spiritual and moral perfection and so much other “perfect” things.

How do we define “perfect” though? I bet that if you went around and asked 10 people, 8 at least would tell you that perfect for them is having a bit of THAT, some more of THAT, less of THIS, changes in THAT… no?

It’s all about comparing: this is better than that, that different from this and this the same as the other thing… We live in a world of added value, differentiation is not just a business concept.

Now let’s think about me… and you. Are we happy? Are you happy? Could you be happier? Ok, where are you from? (I obviously can’t hear you). Ok, what’s the population in your country? What’s the proportion of people your age? What kind of life do they live? What do they have? Are they happy? Have they gone through what you’ve been through? Better or worse? Do they have what you have? Do they all have the opportunity to have it? How many would look at you and say WOW?

Do you beleive that at least 100,000 people on this planet would look at you and wish to be you? To these people you are the definition of PERFECT! But do you think you are? Probably not… (no offence if you are)

The problem I beleive with this planet is that we have become more and more ungrateful towards life… people always want more,more, BETTER! We’ve lost all our sense of appreciation, we’re always unhappy, complaning, putting into our heads that we’re the most miserable people on the planet… What about the happy moments, the so many happy moments, what about the comfort we are being miserable in? Why are we taking life for granted?

I have come to learn that the first step to me being happy is appreciating what I already have. I really don’t care if I get to have more later, a least I know that what I have now is more than a lot of people get in their lifetime, it’s more than a lot of people have ever dreamt of. And when something likely to make me unhappy happens, I just smile and think: too late buddy, I’ve already had 21 years of perfection, you can hurt me now but you can’t take that away.

So the next time you feel far from perfection, go and stand infront of the mirror and smile! It’ll be there smiling back at you.

Have a perfect day, God bless.

2 thoughts on “Perfection is overrated!

Leave a Reply

