I don’t need money; I need what money can buy!

Image

Money: the coins or notes which are used to buy things, or the amount of these that one person has (Oxford dictionary)

There’s never enough money… well, as far as I’m concerned! Which has led me to wonder WHY?! Mainly because when I have one need satisfied, another need comes up, meaning I need more money to satisfy it. So actually, money is NOT my problem… the needs are…

I’d like to share a little story with you… The story of the most amazing period of my life, so far….

… In June 2006, I applied to and was admitted to the University of Buckingham in the UK – a small, private but expensive (in fact the most expensive, according to the Forbes website) University in the UK.

So when I got the place I remember asking my parents if they were 100% sure about wanting to send me there since they were the ones supposed to cover all my expenses, as an International student! I even managed to (with the help of friends) get a place in another much less expensive Univesity, but they insisted – well one of them (the more “positive” one that I’ll probably tell U about some other time) – that I go to Bucks, so off I went. And like I said, my two years there (yes, they have fast track 2 year degrees, without the summer holiday that is) were amazing… And nothing was planned in advance!

First I met the most amazing people. I met two of my closest friends there. Second, my lifestyle was well above average even compared to UK standards (partly because I had cool friends :)). Third, I never spent a holiday (including the 2-3 weeks Easter, Summer, and Autumn breaks) in the UK, except when I really wanted to… and I never went to the same country twice! Fourth, when I finished my course I didn’t owe anything to anybody. No debts, I was free to go! Fifth, my parents AND MY GRANDMA’ came to my graduation!

Believe me, my parents aren’t filthy rich (well, as far as I know i.e. they are willing to show me) … but one thing I’m sure of: everything that happened was just God answering a prayer that I had done some time in high school and that I had forgotten about.

My parents did cover some of the school fees and living expenses that I incurred there (and at some point I had to get a part time job) but I can easily say that the rest (about a third or more) was covered by a couple that I met there (through friends of my mum), who AREN’T FRIENDS with my parents, and who just willingly decided to support me because they thought I was a good guy (their words!). These “local parents” (like I used to call them) had one of the coolest houses in one of the coolest neighbourhoods in London in which I had my own room (I was even allowed to invite friends over!) and when they left the UK for good, I still had friends I could stay with whenever I wanted. Oh, and once I got invited to go to the South of France and Monaco by a friend… and by ‘invited’ I mean I DIDN’T EVEN HAVE TO PAY FOR MY PLANE TICKET! And when my grandma’ came over it’s one of my uncles who had offered to pay for the ticket!

I have this friend… a very good friend of mine who amazes me and inspires me in so many different ways. This guy, whatever he wants, he gets… well, like 90% of the things he wants he gets, exactly when he wants them… and like me, this guy isn’t that rich money wise. But he has a secret. Do you want to know what it is. He never asks (prays) for money when he wants something. By the way, he is a Christian, and his strong faith is the main key to his I-always-get-what-I-want life. So whenever I forget this principle I’m about to tell U about, he’s always there to remind me.

My favourite verse in the bible goes like this: Ask, and it will be given to you. Search and you will find. Knock and the door will be opened to you. (Matthew 7: 7 NIRV) … clearly because it backs up and gives meaning to my family name – Nsabiyumva – which means, in Kirundi, ‘I pray (ask) to a God who hears’… I know, it’s AWESOME 🙂

Well, the principle is: whatever we want, God will provide! Word… of God.

A man of God asked this question: If God came to you and asked you how much money you want, how much would you say? Do you have an answer? I don’t! I can’t say a billion dollars because I’m not sure about the state of the World’s economy in the next… 20 years. How much will a dollar be worth? How much will I be able to buy with it? Or how much will I have left? On the other hand I know what I want, NOW! But that’s not the end of the story… because yes we want things, but we also care about HOW WE GET THEM!

I was brought up to believe that I can only call mine what I earned; and in fact, most of the privileges that I got as a child, I had to deserve them i.e. by behaving well at home, good grades in class… and if I ever wanted something, my parents were the only people I was allowed to ask. I believe that this was an excellent way to bring me up, though it somehow limited me.

How? Well, I always linked my capacity to get the things I want, to the amount of money in my bank account. But this is not right! Here is what the Word of God says:

“So don’t worry. Don’t say, ‘What will we eat?’ Or, ‘What will we drink?’ Or, ‘What will we wear?’ People who are ungodly run after all of those things. Your Father who is in heaven knows that you need them. “But put God’s kingdom first. Do what he wants you to do. Then all of those things will also be given to you. (Matthew 6: 31-33 NIRV)

To get what we want, we don’t have to work our behinds of! All we have to do is seek the Kingdom of God, and do what He wants us to do! Then just wait for Him to provide, through whatever means He deems appropriate… whether we get it ourselves or as a gift. What matters is the end result anyway, no? Which is, having our needs met! So if a ‘third person’ comes and gives me ‘the object of my desires’ he or she can’t really brag (or try to enslave me) about it because I won’t have asked him or her for it! It’ll be by his or her own will! (well inspired by God)

I’m not promoting laziness and procrastination here. What I want to say here is: Don’t let anything limit your dreams. If you do your best, God will reward you! And God doesn’t reward like a human beings; because it’s rare to find a human being who will value you for what you’re truly worth. Only God can do that!

By the way, I’m aware that all this is easier said then done. All these souvenirs about University came back to me because I was actually experiencing some cash flow problems and worrying about how I’m going to get something that I really need. But thank God for reminding me that He has done bigger things than what I need Him to do now, that He is still in control, and that my name is still Nsabiyumva haha!

LIFE LESSON: DON’T COUNT ON YOUR BANK ACCOUNT, COUNT ON GOD!

Yours truly.

Leave a Reply

